Ghana News

Even if Nana Addo appoints Jesus Christ, according to Abronye DC, his disciples to the EC-NDC WILL NOT BE SATISFIED


Kwame Baffoe Abronye, the regional chairman of the New Patriotic Party for Bono, claims that the NDC will never be content even if Nana Addo’s administration names Jesus Christ, the founder of Christianity, and his 12 followers as members of the Electoral Commission (EC).

Reiterating that the NDC’s allegation that the Electoral Commission should be forced to nominate commissioners is incompatible with the provisions of the country’s constitution that specify how commissioners are appointed to the Electoral body, the NDC’s demands were dismissed.


The manner of the Commission members’ appointments, according to Chairman Kwame Baffoe Abronye, is outlined in Article 43 of the 1992 Constitution and Act 451.

The President, acting on the advice of the Council of State, appoints the Chairman, Deputy Chairmen, and other members of the Commission, according to Article 70 (2), Chairman Abronye emphasised. However, contrary to the constitution, it is not the Commission that appoints its members.

The National Democratic Congress (NDC), the primary opposition party, sees no virtue in the Akufo Addo administration, according to the Bono regional chairman.

Despite the opposing party’s stances on EC independence, the NPP firebrand views the NDC as a spoiler and unclear when it comes to Ghana’s voting procedures.

Mr. Kwame Baffoe Abronye contended that the former NDC government, led by ex-President John Dramani Mahama, chose a former NDC chairman’s daughter to serve as commissioner at EC in an interview with Accra-based Hot FM.

Where in the Constitution may one point to a legal violation in the president’s present appointment? He probed.

On March 21, 2023, Nana Addo Danquah Akuffo Addo, the president of the republic, named three individuals to the Electoral Commission, bringing the commission’s membership to seven for the purpose of carrying out a specific task.

After a news conference by the Bono regional NDC caucus, the issue turned out to be a smear campaign against some of the nominees who are thought to be NPP members.

President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo yesterday swore in three new commissioners to the Electoral Commission of Ghana to replace retired commissioners.

They are Rev. Akua Ofori Boateng, Salima Ahmed Tijani, and Dr. Peter Appiahene.

They take the position of the retiring Mrs. Rebecca Kabukie Adjalo, Mr. Ebenezer Aggrey-Fynn, and Mrs. Hajia Sa-Adatu Maida.

According to Article 43 (1 and 2) of the Constitution of 1992, “there shall be an Electoral Commission, consisting of a Chairman, two Deputy Chairmen, and four other members,” their appointment is in accordance with that provision.

In accordance with Article 70 of this Constitution, the President shall appoint the members of the Commission.

Currently, Dr. Bossman Eric Asare and Samuel Tettey serve as Mrs. Jean Mensa’s deputy and are in charge of the EC’s operations and corporate affairs, respectively.

On the other hand, President Akufo-Addo voiced his support for the three freshly sworn-in EC members and urged the body not to be intimidated by criticism.

He encouraged the electoral administration body to concentrate on Ghanaians’ aspirations and make efforts to uphold the wishes of the Ghanaian people.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker!